Bedtime Reading

September 12, 2006 at 8:50 pm (Sam's Posts)

A few weeks ago I met with the chair of a certain respected university’s public health department, and among other things, I asked him if he had any book suggestions for someone interested in reading about public health. He said he’d work on that. Fast forward to today. and I have received what he calls work-in-progress public health reading list. When he and his colleagues finish it, I’m sure it will quickly vault itself into the upper echelons of all reading lists. But for now, you’ll have to settle for what he sent me, which is attached to this post here:

Public Health Reading List

 I’ve only read half of just one book (Guns, Germs, and Steel) on the list, but the rest of them sound pretty cool for the most part. Interesting, Mountains Beyond Mountains, which I just finished two days ago, does not seem to have made the initial cut. Of course, I loved it because it appealed to my save-the-world complex, but Tracy Kidder (the author) implied a number of times that global health experts across the world aren’t exactly leaping for joy at the kind of example that Paul Farmer is setting. Regardless, the book rules and you should read it.

-Sam-

1 Comment

  1. Michael Soule said,

    Holla! What a good idea. I’m going to start asking my doctor friends for reading lists on public health and international health. I’ll post anything as it comes along. This was a fantastic move.

Leave a Reply

